Skip to content

When I grow up

March 21, 2011

I have always been envious of my older sister. As long as I can remember she wanted to be a teacher. She went to college for elementary education. When she graduated she got a job as a fourth grade teacher, that was five years ago. She is still teaching fourth grade and will probably teach fourth grade at the same school until she retires. I, on the other hand, am not as lucky. Throughout high school, I changed my career choice weekly. I wanted to be a doctor, painter, chef, humanitarian, peace corp worker, vet, Sergeant in the army, and many many other things. My parents would just laugh because they knew next week I would come up with some other career idea. The summer before my senior year of high school, I spent five weeks at Penn State for the Pennsylvania Governor’s School for the Agricultural Sciences. This experience along with 4-H and growing up on a farm, influenced me to pursue a degree in agriculture. I went to Penn State and majored in Agriculture Science with minors in agronomy and animal science. I spent a year working in soil conservation and almost two years working for Extension as an Agronomy Educator. I’ve decided to move back home to the family farm. So now I am looking for a job. At 2 different interviews in the past week I have been asked “What do you want to do?” My response has been “I have no idea what I want to do when I ‘grow-up’.”I have many skills and interests and it is really hard for me to pick one career that I want to do. Am I alone in this feeling? Are there others out there who feel the same as me? Often I feel negatively judged when I say “I have no idea”. I feel that people think of me as immature and misguided. How do you decided what you want to do when you grow up? Will I ever know the answer to this question?

One Comment leave one →
  1. goldeneagle permalink
    March 24, 2011 12:22 pm

    I’ve been the same since I was 8 or so : ) I’m 50 now. I won’t go through the equally long list of “wanted to be”(s), or even the have beens, but I recently went from a physician’s assistant to a landscaper. Nuts, huugh? : ) I hear “if you find something you love it isn’t work”. I’ve only found likes. So far. “Agriculture” you say? Hmmm… : ) Keep asking little kids what they want to be- you’ll get a cool answer sooner or later, then run with it! Ha ha.

Leave a Reply

