Skip to content

Chewing the Cud #3

May 18, 2010

This weeks Chewing the Cud is influenced by my focus at work lately. For more details check out my previous post. Please feel free to post your comments. I really enjoy hearing what others have to say!!

What team, club, organization, contest, or class has most influenced your desire to be part of agriculture?

When I was in 11th grade in high school, I still didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. Every week it was something new and my family was starting to get frustrated. Then our County Extension agent called and asked me to be part of the county Grassland Evaluation Team. This team changed my life. I learned so much about animals and plants and how they interacted in a grazing setting. I knew after the contest that agriculture was my calling. I went on to Penn State, got a BS in Ag Science and minored in Agronomy and Animal Science all because of the grassland evaluation team. Now that I am an Extension Educator, I’ve decided to provide 4Hers in Cumberland County with the same opportunity that I had. Hopefully I will be able to make a lasting impression on their desire to be part of agriculture!

One Comment leave one →
  1. sandy costello permalink
    May 18, 2010 5:17 pm

    My desire came from a combination of things… I did not grow up on a farm but knew I wanted to do something in biology and not something typically ‘female’ occupation. I knew nothing about agriculture – except cows tended to lie down when it was due to rain :-). I planned to become a wildlife biologist – took courses when in high school, went to forestry camp and ecology courses, took drafting and refused to take home ec classes in high school. Started college in wildlife biology – got a workstudy program at University of Maryland at livestock barns. Fell in love with agriculture. Joined block and bridle – got reserve grand champion beef with my black Angus – named Blacky – who was as stuborn as me. Learned to shear sheep, castrate bulls, measure bull testicles at Wye Plantation, bottle feed baby animals and muck out sheep and hog pens – then go to English literature classes (I like to read). Graduated to work at campus dairy and by second semester, in addition to work on a local dairy farm, knew I loved dairy (plus was told – no jobs in Wildlife Biology 🙂 and switched to dairy and have rarely looked elsewhere. I love farmers and my job and continue to get up several days a week to assist farmers with milk quality assessments and teach about milk quality and mastitis control. I’d say my first male teacher in Biology class – 7th grade – was one of my major influencers. He was a great teacher.

Leave a Reply

