Skip to content

Chewing the Cud

April 9, 2010

Chewing the Cud is something new I am going to try on my blog. Basically once a week, probably on Fridays, I am going to post a “thought” provoking question. I would like you all to “chew on the cud” and comment. This week’s question was inspired by a presentation I saw this morning, given by a Veterinarian.

If an animal is genetically modified to produce more environmentally friendly waste, will you eat it’s meat? Why or why not?

I would definitely eat this meat. I personally feel that almost all the products we consume have been genetically modified. Plant breeding is a form of genetic modification. The animal I am talking about is the pig. A pig has been developed with phytase in its saliva. Phytase is an enzyme that helps make phosphorous more available, so less P has to be fed to the animal. Feeding less P to the animal will reduce the amount of P that is in the manure.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Sweet permalink
    April 9, 2010 3:44 pm

    Excellent idea. Outstanding blog site, too. Lots of ag info. Do you know if urban or non-ag folks are referencing your useful information? Thanks, from a CA CattleWoman member.

    • pafarmgirl permalink*
      April 12, 2010 8:41 am

      Thank you for the nice comments. I am fairly certain the majority of my audience is Ag people. I wish I could get more non-ag folks to read it.

  2. April 9, 2010 4:26 pm

    Yes! Of course I would. If there was such a product I am sure a lot of consumers would be very interested in it but wouldn’t try it. Most times consumers are afraid of GMO’s because they feel it is a “fake” food and not produced naturally. Well some of our best food was genetically modified. Strawberries? Grapes? So I would be very interested in trying this genetically modified beef product but for me to enjoy it– it of course would have to be juicy, tender, and flavorful!

    • pafarmgirl permalink*
      April 12, 2010 8:43 am

      Morgan, thanks for commenting!! But the animal I am talking about is not a beef cow, but a pig!! I do agree that no matter what product is being modified it should still taste good!!

  3. Vince Verbeke permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:31 pm

    Sure.

    My requests for the modifcations would be that a) LESS waste; b) Less NITROGEN in the waste (to reduce nitrogen pollution in areas such as Chesapeake Bay).

    Vince

    • pafarmgirl permalink*
      April 12, 2010 8:48 am

      Vince, you are definitely thinking in the same area as me. The animal I am talking about is a pig. Sadly it doesn’t produce less waste or less nitrogen. But this pig does use phosphorous more efficiently and less P comes out in the waste. P is becoming a big player in the pollution of the Bay.

  4. Jonathan Rotz permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:40 am

    I think it comes down to the whole ‘food safety’ issue. I have no issue with GMO’s but some people do. I believe as we continue to study and test possbile affects on individuals we will get a better idea of how it can fit. We still have a lot of research and education to overcome some of the fear, especially in other countries (outside USA), associated with GMO food products.

  5. Voight permalink
    April 12, 2010 10:34 am

    I eat anything cheap. Its protein. I think as food prices rise the issue of production will come back into play. That said to feed the world we need to entertain genetic manipulation. From my Angus background as long as the genetic manipulation does not cause other genetic maladies as is the case with corn then I could see it inclusion in my breeding. If however there are other genetic problems associated with it’s use then I would be concerned to use Bulls that are modified.

  6. Jeff Graybill permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:17 pm

    To the best of my knowledge, man has never created a “gene” nor any specific trait. We have simply found a way to move them from one animal to another or more commonly, from a bacteria to a plant or animal. The gene has already been out there in the environment and is not some alien creation waiting to consume us.

    Thus, in my mind, responsible breeing can, should, and indeed does inlcude the use of GMO’s. Envrionmental benefits should be a significant portion of any breeding program; and yes I would and already do consume this type of food.

Leave a Reply

