Skip to content

Masters of Beef Advocacy

March 10, 2010

The Masters of Beef Advocacy (MBA) is a program developed and sponsored by BeefCheckOff. The MBA is an e-learning program designed to improve producer’s ability to communicate information about the beef industry. The MBA program involves six courses that take about an hour or so to complete. Each course has homework that needs completed and then you take a ten question quiz. You must turn your homework in and get a perfect ten on the quiz before you can move on to the next course. The six courses include: Modern Beef Production, Animal Care, Beef Safety, Nutrition, Environmental Stewardship, and Beef Checkoff. After you complete all six courses you are encouraged to join the MBA alumni group. This group will provide opportunities for MBA grads to network and connect with each other.

 I just completed the MBA program this week. I found the courses to be easy to understand and the homework definitely made me think. But it wasn’t something I struggled with. The quiz questions were multiple choice or true/false and the answers could be found in the coursework. As a member of PA CattleWomen Inc., we were encouraged to work through the MBA program. On Thursday March 25, anyone in PA who completed the MBA program can come to MBA final training and Commencement. This is a great opportunity to meet other MBA grads and Daren Williams, the NCBA Executive Director of Communications and MBA Dean of Students.

 I am glad I decided to complete my MBA. This opportunity made me more aware of what’s happening in the beef industry. I am now more prepared to talk about the beef industry and what producers are doing to provide a safe, environmentally friendly, healthy beef product to consumers. I hope any of you who are involved in the beef industry will consider completing this program. For more information check out http://www.beefboard.org/news/08_1010News_MBApressRelease.asp  or email me (genny@psu.edu) or Daren Williams (dwilliams@beef.org) for more information

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 12:58 pm

    I filled out an application several months ago and after a week I received my temporary password. Today I have tried to go into the system to start my MBA but cannot remember how to get into the correct system to start. Please send me the info again so I can start my MBA course. Thanks for your help. Joy

Leave a Reply

